VAC PAC's

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Bob T.

Bob T.
  • Prospector / Miner
  • 448 posts

Posted 05 August 2008 - 10:21 PM

How many people on this forum own and use a vac pac?

I have been mining for many years but have never owned or used a vac pac.

My question's are what brand or at least what brand of engine do you find to be the most efficient on the vac pac, ie. cc, hose size ect. ect...

How about the suction? Are they as strong as a medium size shop vac.?

I can build one for less than half price of a factory unit. I may go this way as I believe it would only take a couple hours once I have the parts. Any ideas on this?

Over the last year I have located several locations that need the immediate attention of a good vac with good suction.

Bob T.

#2 Adam

Adam

• Prospector / Miner
  • 2,103 posts

Posted 05 August 2008 - 10:58 PM

I use one, and made it myself. This is one project that I really believe you will save some money if you do it yourself.
They are worth it ,and do pick up gold.
I used a Echo hand held blower for mine, but there are a couple other brands (stihl,homelite,poulan,soyo,) that will do just as good.
If you are drywashing, then it is almost a must have.
Seriously , you will wonder how you ever did without it.

#3 Jose

Jose
  • Prospector / Miner
  • 582 posts
  • Equipment:Minelab GP3000, Keene 140 Drywasher, Yamaha 660 Rhino, Recirculating Sluice

Posted 05 August 2008 - 11:07 PM

I too built my own at considerable savings. The vac is indispensible. Another must have item. You're leaving gold behind if you're not using one......

#4 Gilaoro

Gilaoro

AMERICAN MILITARY MEMBER and MAJOR MINER

• Prospector / Miner
  • 1,064 posts
  • Interests:Gold prospecting-Meeting people- Helping miners-Everyday Living.

Posted 06 August 2008 - 03:50 AM

I have built about 10 of them for myself and others since 1982.
I prefer Echo 1000 series blowers, Stay away from upright blowers, makes vac too tippy.