OPEN/Closed Mining Claims

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Lori

Lori
  • Prospector / Miner
  • 1 posts

Posted 10 November 2010 - 08:47 PM

Hi, All.... I'm totally new to this subject so please be patient with me. I'm looking at an area on the LR2000 / Geo Communicator Data that Rod set up on Google Earth (very cool I might add). But I'm confused as far as the Open Claims vs. the Closed Claims. Does closed mean "Closed" to everyone or closed as meaning it's not active any longer and open to anyone?

Just new to everything and trying to figure out where I can go?????

Thanks!

#2 Rod

Rod

Chief Imagination Officer and Nuggeteer

• Root Admin
  • 4,477 posts
  • Twitter:@AtomicNumber79
  • Interests:Humor, laugh at myself all the time.
  • Equipment:GP Extreme, Fisher Gold Bug 2, Whites GMT (sold to AZBill), Keene 140 Drywasher, Super Hi-Vac, Ford 4x4s, Yamaha Grizzly 660 4x4, Keene RC1 Rock Crusher, Hard Rock Mining Tools

Posted 10 November 2010 - 09:52 PM

You can have any area with a closed and an open claim on the exact same spot, if there is an open claim there its valid, the older ones are historic reference at this point,.

If the area has only closed claims it may not be open, the land could now be private, or under another jurisdiction that disallows mineral exploration. Land changes hands/governorship all the time.

Remember, this is just a "guide", as is ANY software of this nature. Changes could have occurred that are not yet recorded and updated by the government servers where the data is pulled from.

I'm tired Posted Image hope this helps Posted Image and welcome Posted Image

#3 michael88

michael88
  • Prospector / Miner
  • 257 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, camping, exploring new areas, and just plain driving.
  • Equipment:4000gpx, drywasher

Posted 10 November 2010 - 09:52 PM