Legal public panning near Yuma, AZ

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 SwarmMaster

SwarmMaster
  • Prospector / Miner
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 October 2011 - 10:37 PM

Good evening all, I'm in Yuma AZ for a week and find myself with some spare time to kill. I've never prospected before so I'm completely new to this. I was considering attempting some recreational panning but after hours of searching online I cannot find any clear information on where I can legally do so without having access to BLM claim maps. As I understand it public lands free of marked claims can be prospected with hand tools.

Can anyone tell me if there is a public national park area near Yuma where I could legally try my hand at this? Are there any sort of broadly defined areas where the public can pan without having to scrutinize claim maps? Is this concept itself completely of base? I'd rather not face a fine or fight when I'm just out to have some fun for a few hours.

Thanks for any help you can offer this visiting newbie!

#2 DesertNuggets

DesertNuggets
  • Prospector / Miner
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 October 2011 - 11:23 PM

I'm not sure where to go in Yuma but National Parks are 100% off limits. What you want is BLM land or a National Forest.

#3 SwarmMaster

SwarmMaster
  • Prospector / Miner
  • 2 posts

Posted 31 October 2011 - 09:01 PM

Thank you for the clarification, DesertNuggets. I actually found that the Yuma BLM office is very close by so I was able to stop there today and purchase one of their maps showing BLM lands. Oddly enough the clerk said they did not have updated claim maps available for me and instead suggested that I just watch for marked claims and avoid them. Good advice but it seems like the official BLM office of all places should be able to provide me with that information.